| our brochure: | weddings brochure:
Reviews Hemera Holiday Home Villa in Santorini

Reviews

amazing place great host incredible views and sunsets

We loved staying here as a family and Maria is an amazing host who made fresh breakfasts every morning in traditional Greek way. The sunsets are spectacular and the house is very comfortable and modern and the pool is great we had two young children and they had a great time. The views from the property are stunning it is very peaceful and relaxing here.

Date of stay: August 2020

Alex A, United Kingdom

Hemera holiday house

Outstanding holiday house in Santorini with an extremely gracious host Maria. I recommend anyone who comes to Santorini to book Hemera holiday house.

Date of stay: November 2019

Liam S

Most beautiful place on earth

We spent over a week in Santorini after our wedding. Maria and Hemera House were two of the best things about Santorini. Maria cooked for us every day, magnificent! She booked tours for us at local attractions and gave us advice when we wanted to explore on our own. I feel like we got to do everything that we wanted to in Santorini. Without her, it would not have been possible. Thank you Maria! We will be back. Everyone should know that you go above and beyond to make sure that your guests have a magical experience on the island of Santorini. Let Maria help you, you will not be sorry.

Date of stay: August 2019

Mario H, Seattle, Washington

Amazing location

We were so lucky to find Maria and Hemera House and truly believe it is located in the best spot on the island. You have amazing (and private) beaches within minutes as well as local tavernas (moderately priced) and sunsets that will stay with you.

Maria’s warm hospitality and knowledge of the best places to visit / eat were always spot on and highly recommended. Her breakfasts of local specialities were amazing. The house is spotless and well equipped.

You do need a car to explore the rest of the island and the sights, even in October, were busy with tourists and cruise line visitors. Thira and Oia are great places but returning to Akrotiri was always a relief.

Date of stay: October 2019

SNicholas2016, Marlborough, United Kingdom

Beautiful home, on a beautiful island

We spent four days in Santorini with Maria and loved the island, and her home. Very comfortable environment, very clean, and located on a peaceful part of Santorini. Highly recommended, we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2019

Paul G, Garden Grove, California, United States

Excellent Villa in Santorini

Very nice villa with its own pool and magnificent view over the caldera. We were watching the best sunset from the villa.
The location of the villa is near Akrotiri village where you can find good restaurants there.
The villa has a kitchen that is very well equipped but missing the dishwasher to be perfect.
The hostess Maria, she is a great lady made is feel very welcomed. She is an icon for the Greek hospitality. Thanks Maria

The villa needs a washing machine; when you are in holiday home with family and kids in such a spot the washing machine is very important

Date of stay: June 2019

desert_legend, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

A relaxing get-a-way!

There are no adequate words that can express our thankfulness for Maria's hospitality!

Her special treatment of our little boy, on his birthday, meant the world to us. Her wonderful excursion suggestions, and then coordination, were amazing. She even set up a family photographer, upon my request. We have had absolutely the best stay possible in Santorini, because of her.

We also sincerely appreciated the fantastic homemade breakfasts that Maria provided, they were delicious! It was so nice being able to try island specific food. Maria will always hold a special place in our hearts and we look forward to keeping in touch with her.

Date of stay: April 2019

AChelf

Lovely Holiday Home with Amazing Views of the Caldera and Sunsets

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely holiday home with amazing views of the caldera and spectacular sunsets. It was very clean and spacious. It’s just outside the town of Akrotiri in the South of the island, a quieter location away from the busier towns of Fira and Oia, but with a car it was easy to get around and explore the island and all its history. Maria, the owner, was so friendly and welcoming and the perfect hostess! Her freshly cooked breakfasts were delicious and she went out of her way to help with organising tours and suggesting places of interest to visit. The Greek Wedding Night should definitely not be missed! A swimming pool would be the icing on the cake! We hope to return one day.

Hemera holiday home is in a wonderfully peaceful location with a spectacular view. The house is 2 floors with all bedrooms on the ground floor and all living spaces on the top floor. There is a fairly narrow staircase that connects the two floors. The home is well furnished and well stocked. The pictures do not do the home justice.

We were very blessed to experience the island during Spring, it was breathtaking. We stayed the second week of April.

Date of stay: July 2018

Julia K

Amazing views, beautiful home, wonderful hostess!!!

I had the pleasure of staying here for 2 weeks. First week with my family and second week with a friend. The home is beautiful and has a million dollar view of the caldera. It is in Akrotiri which is away from the crowds but a few minutes drive from anywhere on the island. Maria was an excellent host and a great cook!!! I would definitely stay again if I ever get back to Santorini. Maria can make any arrangements you need. Don’t hesitate to stay here!!! I have posted photos of the house and the view

Date of stay: October 2018

Tourist97309

Amazing Views and Hospitality by Maria!

This beautiful home is in a great location - far enough from the crowds of people but easy to get to island attractions. The caldera views from this house are phenomenal! We spent much of our time on the upper balcony watching beautiful sunsets and sunrises, without the crowds. Maria is an excellent host and goes above and beyond anything we've ever experienced. Maria shared tasty treats with us and made delicious breakfast meals! Maria made us feel like family. She invited us to attend her church on Sunday morning. We had coffee at a nearby cafe after church with Maria and her husband after which she gave us a tour of the village. Having Maria make arrangements for our excursions (sunset cruise, dinner reservations, Open door Theatre, car rental, etc.) was very helpful. I loved everything about this place and would definitely go back here again.

Date of stay: September 2018

MarlysA7

Lovely home with beautiful views in quiet neighborhood

The home is very clean and well kept with bedrooms on ground level and living/dining on 2nd level. This allowed for nice views of the island and sea when eating meals on the balcony. Maria is a super friendly host who went out of her way to make us feel very welcome, including special touches like making some local dishes for breakfast. The home is away from the hustle and bustle of town but only a short drive away. Overall it was a very positive experience.

Date of stay: September 2018

raeicher, Dusseldorf, Germany

Beautiful views, smaller house

Overall the house is beautiful and the views are amazing, specially the sunset. Only complaint would be the size the house. We were a group of 6 and the pictures led us to expect a much larger house. There was only one full bath/shower for all 6 of us, and the bedrooms were rather small. Otherwise, the house was fully equipped for a great vacation!

Date of stay: July 2018

nimbooda999, Jacksonville, Florida

Excellent private caldera views

We stayed at this rental for 3 days. The home is very clean,beautiful with excellent views of the Caldera. It is located in Akrotiri which is private and away from the tourist crowds. The balcony up stairs was a focal point for our family to watch the sunset and enjoy the views. Maria is an excellent host!! She did cook us some local treats which tasted great and helped secure a rental car- very much needed if staying in this location. The touristy places are a very short drive away. If you are thinking of staying in this rental, just go head and book it. You will not regret staying here!!!

Date of stay: July 2018

catherinea545

A beautiful house on a beautiful island!

This house is absolutely lovely, and I couldn't have asked for a more friendly and communicative host. Everything was absolutely spotless, and the house is decorated to the highest standard. The view is outstanding, and the location of the house was perfect for me. I was able to get to anywhere I needed in 20 minutes or less. Such a great experience, I hope to come back again some time! Thanks Maria!

Date of stay: May 2018

Jen B, London

A Wonderful Home and Hostess with a Million Dollar View!

We were lucky enough to book this beautiful home for our vacation in Santorini. The home has amazing an view of the Caldera and you can view the Sunset every night form the comfort of your own balcony. Our Hostess Maria was wonderful and helped us so much planning our tours and daily excursions. She made wonderful traditional Greek breakfast for us everyday of our stay, and they were delicious. She made sure we had everything we needed and has great contacts and partnerships with the local restaurants. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation. Our only regret is that we had to leave!

Date of stay: May 2018

gregheinisch, Newnan, Georgia

Beautiful, large, private seafront home with spectacular panoramic caldera view

The hardest decision in planning a trip to Santorini is about location; do you stay in the main town of Fira, the tonier town of Oia at the northern tip of the island, or somewhere less crowded and less expensive? This beautiful house is located just on the northern outskirts of Akrotiri on the southern end of the island. What it affords is a gorgeous panoramic view of the Caldera—essentially the same view as you get from Oia at the northern end of the Caldera, but at less than half the price and with far more privacy. In Fira and Oia, most accommodations are stacked atop each other, with very limited privacy and often involving a long walk to get from your car to your room. This house is a freestanding house with wonderful privacy on both sides, and you can park your car right at your door. The place is very spacious, simply and tastefully decorated, and so clean you could eat off the floors. It has wonderful decks upstairs and down, and we could have spent weeks on the upstairs deck outside the dining room, simply existing on the sumptuous view from sunup to sundown (there is literally nothing between the house and the sea but a grass-covered hillside. Sunsets were infinitely beautiful). The house is very well equipped, with 3 bedrooms on the ground floor with queen beds in each, and a large living area, dining room, and kitchen in an open plan upstairs. We were staying with another couple, and there was ample space and privacy. Maria was an absolutely perfect host, and was like having our own private concierge. She met us when we arrived at 12:30 after we arrived on a late night flight, and the next morning made us some wonderful fresh tomato fritters with basil and a kind of Greek pastry called loukoumades, a kind of delicate fried dough with honey and cinnamon. She made an equally delicious breakfast the next morning of similar traditional Santorini specialties.

Date of stay: April 2018

Kirk L, Lexington, Virginia

Beautiful home in a beautiful Island

We loved this house and Maria. The Hermosa house looks as depicted by the pictures with a lovely view. It is fully equipped with lots of space. You definitely need a car to get around, it has a parking which makes it easy. Maria is super nice, her breakfast treats are lovely and much appreciated. We will definitely go back and have recommended the Hermosa to our friends and family. ❤️

Date of stay: July 2017

taram47, San Diego, California

Excellent

Stayed at Hemera villa for 3 nights.

The rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and with all amenities, and the villa itself was spotless clean and had great views of sunset and volcano. The villa is located on a quiet location, away from the noisy Fira etc. but it is fairly easy and quick to get anywhere on the island (by car or public transport).

Overall, i would happily go back to Hemera and Santorini, it was a memorable stay on a really nice villa and on a breathtakingly beautiful island.

Date of stay: July 2017

vasilis k

Amazing Experience!!!! A Must-Stay!!!

Our family of 3 stayed 3 days with Maria in her villa on Santorini Island. I cannot say enough good things about Maria as a host and her home. The home is perfectly situated with a beautiful caldera view and private parking for your rental car. Maria greeted us warmly and showed us the home with all the ammeneties. It is better thant the photographs, spotlessly clean, with excellent hot water and AC. Maria helped us with restaurant and tour options and gave us a gift of food and wine in the refrigerator. The home is situated on the "quieter" end of the island, away from the waves of cruise ship tourists in Oia and Fira. Don't believe the tour books that say you must be in Oia and Fira for the best sunsets. The best sunsets on the island can be seen right from the balcony of Hemera Holiday Home! If we ever come back to Santorini, and we hope we will, this is where we will stay. The home is so comfortable that we felt like we would have the best vacation if we never ventured out of it for the time we were there. Thanks, Maria!

Date of stay: June 2017

geneg856, Perkasie, Pennsylvania

Great place & hostess

So many wonderful items about our stay
1. Exceptional bedding & pillows- we have traveled a lot in Europe & these were the top!
2. Cleanliness- couldn't get over how clean & well cared for the home is
3. Breathtaking views- beautiful views that were unbelievable - I did yoga from balcony & was in a trance w the views
4. Great Location- out of the hustle & bustle of Oia & Fira, but could be there in a short while with a ride
5. Hostess- Maria is fantastic! She arranged transfers, tours, & taxis for us. She answered all my questions (and I had a lot) in a timely & friendly manner
If you are looking for a place in Santorini, you should definitely consider this one!!

Date of stay: June 2017

Alwayslooking2travel, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Perfect in every way imaginable.

The location is away from the busy areas, but close to everything; the accommodation is immaculate; the view is incredible; the hostess is fantastic; and it's all on the island of Santorini - at Hemera Holiday Home. Maria is the consummate hostess, providing hot fresh breakfast every morning; providing a lot of information on what to do and where and how to plan your visit; and providing a generous portion of Greek style caring and love, as much as the limited time permitted. Maria arranged for a car pick-up and drop-off at the port, which went flawlessly. We took a four hour sunset sailing cruise that was delightful. We tried a couple of her recommended restaurants which were very enjoyable. We visited Vlychada beach, which was quiet and enjoyable and discovered and toured the Tomato Industrial Museum, also interesting and worthwhile. Oia and Fira and Imerovigli are interesting to visit, but busy and crowded, while Megalochori is small and nice and quiet. All in all, we had a great visit and Maria and Hemera Holiday House were an important part of our experience. Thank you Maria for your kind and generous hospitality. Sharon, Michelle and Marvin (June 2017)

Date of stay: June 2017

Marvin O, Lincoln, California

Million dollar view in a great house and a great hostess.

The pictures do not do the house and view justice. It is more beautiful and totally exceeded expectations. It was our first trip to Santorini and we were unsure where to stay. North? South? Fira? We visited Fira and it is crowded and traffic is very heavy. Oia in the north is famous for the sunset view. We got the same view from the south without the hordes of tourists that crowd Oia every night. This house has a spectacular view of the Caldera. It is next door to the prestigious Princess Spa Hotel. No pool at the house, but same view and location as the Princess in an amazing and immaculate 3 bedroom house for a fraction of the price. Maria is a great hostess. She helped us with activity suggestions and cooked amazing breakfasts for us each morning. The nice bottle of wine and variety of fruit and other food items waiting for us at arrival were a very nice and appreciated touch. Maria and her husband were a delight. On a side note, in our opinion, a rental car is required pretty much anywhere you stay in Santorini if you want to easily get to all the sights. There are virtually no sidewalks and streets are narrow and there are bridges and other areas that make walking dangerous and not practical outside confined areas of the towns. Buses were reliable, but a rental car is actually less expensive for a family and far more convenient. Our family LOVED our stay at Hemera Holiday Home! We enjoyed having a full functional kitchen and were happy to break in the outdoor BBQ fueled by old grape vines for charcoal. Great memories. Thank you Maria!

Date of stay: June 2017

Greg S, South Carolina

Amazing

I can not stress enough how incredible Maria was from day one. Anything we wished for was waiting for us including Maria at 4am when we arrived unexpectedly in Santorini at 3am. The villa is immaculate in design and cleanliness. Everyday Maria offered us a new home made treat to enjoy and asked if we needed anything.
I will be disappointed if the villa is booked when I return to Santorini.

Date of stay: May 2017

Peter P

Our graet holiday experience!

We were very pleased to see that everything is just as beautiful as on all the nice photos! Very well equiped and clean, nothing was missing and there was even an espresso machine in the kitchen. Important for us: all windows in the bedrooms could be darkened well and the mattresses were of high quality! From the living room and the balcony you have an amazing view on the caldera and it is a pleasure to have breakfast and in the evening a glass of wine there.
The location of the villa is superb, the most beautiful beaches of Santorini are nearby, additional lots of restaurants/coffee shops and the trip to Fira is only 15 minutes by car (Oia 35 min.).
We love Santorini and we love this beautiful villa but both will be topped by the generous Greek hospitality of our host Maria!!! Every morning she surprised us with delicious Greek pastry and cakes, she always wanted to spoil us, we had many interesting conversations and we got lot of tips and ideas for our daily trips! Our holiday was a great experience, thank you Maria! We will definitely come back!

Date of stay: October 2016

Tour484081

Simply exceptional!! Don't hesitate!

Look no further! We stayed at Maria's property for 5 days and had a fantastic time! I booked the property after looking at the pictures of the views and it did not disappoint in real life. Maria is a fantastic host, full of information and very friendly, but respectful of our privacy. She helped us arrange a car which was waiting for us when we walked out of arrivals as well as a boat tour. Driving around Santorini was easy as there is only 1 road and it takes perhaps an hour to drive from one end of the island to the other with no traffic. We located Hemara Holiday House and immediately fell in love with the view overlooking the caldera. The views (sunset and other times of day) from here rivals Oia and can be enjoyed from the comfort of your own balcony. When we woke every morning, we had to pinch ourselves to make sure we were not in a dream. The luxurious house is full of light, very clean and airy, and decorated with excellent taste. Maria could not have been any nicer and was on hand to answer our numerous questions and suggest activities. After driving around Santorini and observing the hectic traffic and huddle of people around Fira and Oia, we were very very happy to be located in the town of Akrotiri, which is much quieter and exclusive by comparison. On our last night, we had dinner at the Dolphin tavern recommended by Maria and it was a very special and beautiful experience dining next to the sea. I would recommend Maria and Hemera Holiday House without hesitation. Our only regret was leaving it when we had to go onto our next destination.

Date of stay: September 2016

suzxie, Singapore

Just majestic..if you need to relax and enjoy one of the best & breathtaking view in the world, book Hemera Holiday Home

I found this place amazing for a lot of reasons..some of them are:
-placed in a really good spot offering you amazing view
-quiet surrounding offering you calm vacation while on the other hand is just 15 minutes from Fira and just 2 minutes from the center of Akrotiri
-easy and close access to a lot of nice beaches
-the owner, Mrs Maria is a very kind and interesting person who used to serve us with special handmade desserts and delightful breakfast. She was also willing to help us with her tips and suggestions
-the owner also managed to book for us a car which was waiting for us in the port when we arrived
-a bottle of local wine was expecting us in the fridge, which was a very unique surprise for us
-the room/entire building was clean and prepared for us in a way like we were the very first entering there. this made us feel like we were at our own villa..
-from the balcony of the first floor you have unique view of the caldera..you can pass all your nights in this balcony with no need visiting other sightseeing places in the island..

I am sure I forgot a lot of things to mention, but I think what I already wrote are enough to convince you that this place was at least for us our dream holiday house..

Date of stay: August 2016

Spiros K, Athens, Greece

Mare, relax e tramonti indimenticabili

La casa è situata in una posizione fantastica, ideale per chi voglia godersi pace e relax lontano dai centri abitati e con un panorama mozzafiato. Maria, proprietaria e gestore della casa, è gentilissima, molto premurosa e comunque attenta e rispettosa della privacy. Ogni mattina prepara a colazione una gustosissima e abbondante specialità greca. La casa è ampia, con tutti i comfort e molto pulita. Ideale per famiglie con 1 o 2 bambini, oppure per 2-3 coppie. L'affitto non è economicissimo, ma in linea con i prezzi per appartamenti di livello confrontabile.

Date of stay: June 2018

massimilianof61

Belle maison avec vue magnifique

Nous avons passé un excellent séjour dans cette jolie maison bien équipée et décorée avec beaucoup de gout. La vue sur la caldeira est magnifique.
Maria est très disponible et attentive à nous apporter son aide et ses conseils.
Nous recommandons vivement.

Date of stay: May 2018

Catherine C, Antony, France

Fantástico alojamiento, luminoso, cómodo y con vistas espectaculares desde la terraza.

La villa es preciosa, cómoda, luminosa, muy bien decorada y muy completa. Las vistas a la caldera desde la terraza son increíbles. Estuvimos viendo atardecer en completa paz. María está muy pendiente en todo momento, es muy cercana, y sus recomendaciones son muy acertadas. El desayuno que nos preparó los dos días que estuvimos fue extraordinario. Además de la obligada visita a Oia, algo alejada, nos tentaron las cercanas playas de Perissa y Perivolos, de agua fresca y transparente. La estancia ha sido una experiencia fantástica. Altamente recomendable.

Date of stay: June 2017

María Angeles L, Madrid, Spain

Santorini al Top!!”

Un bell'appartamento su due piani, arredato con gusto, camere con letti comodi, tutto nuovo e pulitissimo, la cucina è molto ben attrezzata ma quello che conquista è una vista strepitosa sulla Caldera, un pò di vento ma vale la pena. Maria è molto simpatica e sempre disponibile.
E' già la seconda volta che andiamo, ci siamo sempre trovati bene, di sicuro ritorneremo.

Date of stay: August 2016

Maria Luisa P. Florence, Toscana, Italy

La più bella vacanza di sempre!

Tutto fantastico a partire dalla proprietaria Maria che non scorderò più per la disponibilità e la gentilezza. La location è indimenticabile come lo sono i tramonti che si possono godere dalla terrazza che guarda la Caldera. Paesaggio spettacolare con il mare da entrambi i lati della casa. Non ci sono parole per d la qualità di tutto ciò che ci è stato offerto. Meraviglioso!

Date of stay: August 2016

mariog956, Vicenza, Italy

ΜΟΝΑΔΙΚΑ

Απο που να αρχισω και που να τελειωσω! Ενα εκπληκτικο μερος με εκπληκτικους ανθρωπους!Τοση φιλοξενια και ζεστασια εχω να δω χρονια!Το μερος εχει απιστευτη θεα ειδικα οταν ξυπνας και πινεις το καφεδακι σου τρωγοντας το πλουσιοπαροχο πρω'ι'νο , ειναι το κατι αλλο!!!Ειναι πολυ κοντα σε παραλιες οποτε δεν σπαταλας χρονο στο να πας και επισης ειναι πολυ κοντα στο κεντρο της σαντορινης τα ΦΗΡΑ!!!Ελπιζω να μπορεσω να ξαναπαω καποια στιγμη στο κοντινο μελλον!!!!

Date of stay: June 2016

sonyxperianikol, Athens, Greece